FIREWORK PERMIT REQUIREMENTS (VENDORS)
FOR THE
UNINCORPORATED TERRITORY OF DOUGLAS COUNTY, KANSAS

A permanent or temporary retail fireworks stand upon the obtaining of a permit for each stand location. A
temporary stand shall not be placed until such permit has been issued. The fee for such permit shall be $100.00
and such permit, when obtained, will permit the holder there of to retail fireworks authorized under state law on
the 2", 3", and 4™ days of July in the year for which the permit is issued. The permit shall be subject to the
following conditions:

(A) No shooting of fireworks shall be permitted within one hundred (100) feet of the fireworks stand.
(B) A temporary stand shall be located at least twenty (20) feet from road or highway rights of way.
(C) Off street parking must be provided for employees and customers.

(D) Weeds and grass must be cut back within one hundred (100) feet of the stand.

(E) The stand may not be located in any area where its proximity to other explosive materials or flammables will
create safety hazards.

(F) Only one 30 SQ. FT. fireworks advertising sign erected in the front of stand located off the road or highway
rights-of-way.

(G) The temporary stand and signs shall be removed on or before the 8th day of July.

(H) Sales or other distribution of fireworks, under the permit, shall be limited to fireworks authorized under the laws
of the State of Kansas, with the exception that the sale or other distribution of fireworks known as bottle rockets is
prohibited.

(I) Each fireworks stand temporarily erected to be used as a place for storing and selling fireworks shall have at least
one (1) fire extinguisher and a cellular phone in case of emergencies.

(J) Any stand which gains its principle means of ingress/egress by crossing the hike and bike path shall post a
$1,000.00 refundable bond. The bond shall be made payable to Douglas County.

All applications for fireworks stand permits shall be accompanied by a drawing showing the following
information:

(a) Name of stand and name and address of property owner and operator of stand.
(b) Legal description of property where stand is to be located.

(c) Location of stand from road or highway rights-of-way

(d) Show parking area for customers

(e) If a sign will be used to advertise the stand, show the location and size of sign.
(f) Copy of Sales Tax certificate

AN INSPECTION OF THE SITE FOR THE FIREWORKS STAND MAY BE REQUIRED PRIOR TO
ISSUING THE PERMIT.

** Douglas County Home Rule Resolution No. HR-88-8-4 **
It shall be unlawful to ignite, explode or use any fireworks in the unincorporated area of Douglas County,

Kansas except from 7:00 A.M. to 10:00 P.M. on July 2 and 3" in any year and from 7:00 A.M. to 12:00
Midnight on July 4™ in any year.




