
 DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING KANSAS  
PERSONAL PROPERTY ASSESSMENT FORM  

 
File a Personal Property return in each county where you have taxable personal property located. On the 
enclosed form, PLEASE SIGN ON LAST PAGE AND RETURN ALL ORGINAL PAGES ON OR PRIOR TO 
MARCH 15th, of each year by mail or in-person. Faxes and emails are not accepted. Postmarks by 
USPS, Fed Ex & UPS will be accepted on or before March 15, however METERED MAIL & COMPUTER 
GENERATED POSTAGE ARE NOT an acceptable proof of an actual mailing date. Check this assessment 
form for a complete and correct listing of your personal property based on ownership January 1.  The personal 
property that the county is aware of is listed on this form.  Check all pages, front & back.  If there are no 
changes to the Personal Property you own in Douglas County (which is pre-printed on the form) mark the top 
box, sign, date and return all pages to the address at the top of the page.  If there is any information that is 
incorrect, including address or not listed, please make any changes, corrections, additions, and deletions 
before returning to the County Appraisers office prior to March 15. ALL FORMS MUST BE SIGNED BY THE 
OWNER! If you receive more than one form, please complete and return ALL forms that are received. For all 
personal property sold, please keep a bill of sale, as well as provide one to our office to make sure the property 
is removed accurately according to Kansas statutes. 
 

 **IMPORTANT CHANGE IN 2020** ALL FORMS MUST BE SIGNED BY THE 
OWNER, if there is a tax preparer or representative it must still be signed by the 
OWNER! No authorization or agent forms will waive this requirement or be 
accepted. 
 
For Individual Personal Property  
Exemptions: Personal property not elsewhere classified (subclass 6) whose purchase price is $750 or less is expressly 
exempt from taxation. The County MUST be notified of the original purchase price in order to exempt this property 
from taxation and a bill of sale will be required. EXEMPTION DOES NOT APPLY TO MOBILE HOMES OR 
VEHICLES. Gifts or below value purchase prices may not be automatically exempt from taxation. NOTE: The owner of 
record must notify the county appraiser of the sale or acquisition of any watercraft. The notification must be given on or 
before December 20, of the tax year, so the value can be prorated for the number of months it is owned. 
 
BOAT OWNERS: Beginning in 2014 all boats that were previously exempt due to purchase price MAY NO 
LONGER BE EXEMPT based on the legislative changes. Watercraft purchases less than $750 MAY be exempt but 
an original bill of sale will be REQUIRED for the exemption to apply. Tax bills will be based on a lower 
assessment rate than other types of property. The assessment rate on watercraft for is 5%, but the minimum tax 
bill will be $12.00 per boat (including 1 motor and 1 trailer). 
 
For Commercial Personal Property  
Exemptions: Machinery and equipment with a “retail cost when new” of $1500 or less is expressly exempt from 
taxation. IF USED when purchased this exemption MAY not apply. In addition, all machinery and equipment acquired 
after June 30, 2006, via a bona fide purchase or lease-purchase or is transported into the state for expansion of an 
existing business or creation of a new business is expressly exempt from taxation. MOTOR VEHICLES ARE NOT 
EXEMPT!  
 
COMMERCIAL TRUCKS & TRAILERS: Based on changes made by the Kansas statutes all commercial trucks and 
trailers must have a DOT number and pay an annual vehicle fee to the state of Kansas in lieu of personal property taxes 
paid to the county. In order for commercial trucks and trailers to be removed from the Douglas County tax rolls please 
provide your DOT number and notify the county with a list of vehicles that will be tagged and paid through the State of 
Kansas. If we are not notified of your DOT number, the trucks and trailer will NOT be removed from the Douglas County 
tax rolls. For additional requirements and information please go to www.truckingsks.org. 

 
Note: By law, in order to promote uniform, equal and accurate assessments, all renditions filed are subject to review by the county appraiser for 
completeness and accuracy. For the same reason, the county appraiser will also take steps to discover non-filers. If additional lines are needed, attach 
supplemental schedules or computer printouts with the same information. 
 

RETURN TO:  Douglas County Appraisers Office, Personal Property Dept. 
                        1100 Massachusetts St. Unit 1 
                        Lawrence, KS 66044  

http://www.truckingsks.org/


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


